- Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Friends Remembered
Survey Question

DX Cluster Spots

Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement

Reviews Categories | Transceivers: HF Amateur HF+6M+VHF+UHF models - not QRP <5W | Yaesu FT-891 Help

Reviews Summary for Yaesu FT-891
Yaesu FT-891 Reviews: 68 Average rating: 4.5/5 MSRP: $889.95
Description: The FT-891 HF All Mode Mobile Transceiver once again continues Yaesu's legacy for legendary receiver design in a compact package, providing uncompromised performance for both the mobile and stationary Amateur operator. High end 32-Bit floating point DSP enhances the operating experience providing a cleaner, clearer signal and reducing overall operator fatigue creating a more enjoyable environment for any Amateur operator.
Product is in production.
More info:
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Yaesu FT-891.

Page 1 of 7 —>

KC2GUY Rating: 5/5 Mar 13, 2018 17:31 Send this review to a friend
A BEST BUY RADIO  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
i purchased this radio at HRO to put in my car and go only mobile with it. the folks at HRO raved about this radio, as they personally had one. I am raving about it too.

works seamlessly with the Yaesu ATAS 120A mobile antenna. receive is excellent, and the filtering is superb for mobile operations. The menus and functions of the radio are very intuitive and simple to use. i like the look, build quality, and the audio reports i receive from others. This radio is a 'best buy' for sure. I have been a ham for nearly 20 years, and have had many rigs, both mobile and base. i can say, without hesitation, Yaesu has a winner here.
KB4MNG Rating: 5/5 Mar 12, 2018 07:13 Send this review to a friend
Great radio.  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I purchased the FT 891 back in November. They had an incredible deal going. This is an awesome radio. I operate 85% Cw the rest is SSB. I get great SSB audio reports and this radio is very good on CW. I have tried many radios including the KX3. While the KX3 is wonderful, I feel considering the price, this radio is just as good considering performance. The built in filters and DNR is amazing.

I have the head mounted on my desk top beside the als 600. This is all the radio I will ever need.
N5RL Rating: 5/5 Mar 11, 2018 20:47 Send this review to a friend
Works Great Fixed or Mobile   Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I bought the FT891 to replace a failing FT100D that was in my mobile. I first played with it in a fixed environment to learn it before I installed it in my vehicle. The radio performance has been outstanding. Great reports on transmit and superb receive performance in the mobile. The radio hears and talks great. In the mobile I use it in conjunction with a hustler resonator system mounted on the rear corner of my dodge mini-van. All the antenna is above roof level. I consistently get very strong signal reports on both 40 and 20 meters, the two bands I most often use when mobile. I would definitely buy a second one if I needed another small HF unit. This radio is an outstanding buy.
YO9BCM Rating: 5/5 Feb 5, 2018 23:58 Send this review to a friend
great radio  Time owned: 0 to 3 months

I'm coming back with a new appreciation, after I dropped the FT-891 in the Mexico international rtty contest, the radio behaved very well with the N1MM program. Recomanding to read the Advanced Manual downloaded from the Yaesu site and the CAT program recommendations for each application that you want to use. Thank you YAESU.
KK8ZZ Rating: 5/5 Feb 5, 2018 15:42 Send this review to a friend
Most Under-Rated Radio Today  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
Probably the most under-rated radio on the market today. Beats the heck out of the much older FT-857D where you have to buy $250 in extra accessory filters to have anything like the same level of selectivity and listening pleasure. Just for fun I tried mine mobile for a couple of weeks with the ATAS-120A auto-tune Yaesu mobile antenna and had as great a level of success as I did with my ol' trusty Tarheel II shortened antenna... I used this mostly in our travel trailer on an extensive trip this summer. Easy mounting with a pair of magnetic car mounts and the metal backplate of the 891's remote head. Had great success with a collapsible "fishing pole" 32 ft antenna and an LDG antenna tuner to match it. Stretch out a couple of "radials" and you're in business ! Nice BIG display with minimal, easy to understand menu choices (try THAT with the 857D !) and 90% of menu items you'd choose for quick change are on the display. These guys have been HIGHLY discounted, and used/mint can be found here on eHam for $500 or less. Amazing leap in ease of use, features and technology for minimum $$ investment. Great Field Day or portable radio too ! I don't say this often in reviews, but "you can't go wrong" with this new FT-891 HF radio !
K1OYQ Rating: 5/5 Feb 5, 2018 13:13 Send this review to a friend
Lots of radio for the price!  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
I purchased this rig to replace my FT-817ND during the propagation downturn we are in. Five watts or less just won't cut it anymore. The FT-891 is a lot of radio for the price. It performs well on all band using portable antennas. It really rocks on SSB. I get excellent signal and audio reports from this rig. I use it for SSB, CW and digital and have no major issues with it. The only feature I don't like is the width control ... you have to reset it with every band change. I wish Yaesu would change that with the next firmware upgrade. Adjusting RF power out could be improved also. It picks out weak stations pretty good and I can work most of what I hear barefoot. It is a great rig for portable operations and you just can't beat the price ... $579. It is a bit menu intensive, but most radios today are that way. It serves its intended purpose and I really like it. I use an LDG Z-100+ antenna tuner with it, and a SignaLink USB sound-card with no difficulty what-so-ever. I would highly recommend it for those needing a full 100 watt portable rig. I haven't tried it with the Yaesu ATAS-120 so I can't comment on that. I used to have an FT-100D with the ATAS 100 and that was a great combo for mobile.
DH4SC Rating: 5/5 Feb 3, 2018 09:11 Send this review to a friend
Great little box5  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
As I saw the first FT-891 advertisement in a ham radio magazine I fell in Love with it......on the visual side.
A couple of months ago I ordered my FT-891.
I am very very pleased with it. It gives full power 100W without any modification, the receiver is excellent, quiet, selective. GREAT! Transmit audio is really broadcast-like after a good modification of the MH31 hand mike.
Over the last 20 years I had about 2 dozends of different radios for testing or long term use on my desk and I have to say that the FT-891 is one of the few radios to stay here in my shack.
I did 't like the Yaesu radios of the last decade but this little radio kicks a**.
I use one 891 in my shack as 2nd radio and i use another one in my car with 7-feet-hamsticks. No complaints at all.....I think there's no better mobile radio on the market these days and at all no better radio in the low and mid priced range.

You are looking for a TOP radio without bells, whistles and "TV screen"? Go and get your FT-891!!!!
AA8XR Rating: 5/5 Feb 2, 2018 11:37 Send this review to a friend
Fantastic   Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Purchased in January 2018. Been wanting a radio for HF mobile again for some time. Upon fixing the vehicle it rides, the 891 seemed the best choice. Fits in with a minimum of space taken. Along with my Hustler Super Resonators from many years back and an MO-2 tilt over atop a home brew quad magnet mount, the radio shines, as has every radio Iíve had in this set up since December 1988.
On to the radio. All I do with it is talk. All signal reports received were of the best compliments on its audio. This is my first Yaesu HF. It wonít be my last. Itís a solid performer, taking up a minimum of space.
This is my seventh HF rig. Hope it lasts many years. Iím extremely happy with it!
YO9BCM Rating: 5/5 Jan 26, 2018 12:40 Send this review to a friend
Very good radio  Time owned: 0 to 3 months

I bought this radio in January 2018, I am very pleased, I do not notice the problem of clicking when I use CAT, I work with it FT8 in contest using N1MM. The menu is very intuitive, there are no problems adjusting. My main radio is FT950 on I will never sell it. I am very pleased with the two Yaesu, FT891 is a jewel.
W1PJE Rating: 2/5 Jan 21, 2018 16:38 Send this review to a friend
Nice RX and TX; fatally compromised for CAT control modes  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
(Youtube video here:

This radio has extremely severe "clicking" problems in its audio whenever any CAT control is used through its USB port. This can clearly be seen by viewing the Youtube video above. It is conclusively not due to anything other than digital "noise" getting into the audio chain whenever anything queries the radio over the USB port.

My radio is now on its way back from Yaesu Repair in California after nearly 2 months. My radio "meets factory specifications" according to repair. Yaesu HQ in Japan told me they are aware of the clicking problem. Yaesu told me they have no fix for the problem. Worse yet, Yaesu has no technical bulletin officially admitting there is a problem. Japan HQ was completely non-responsive to my requests for discussion or a fix (these were passed along multiple times to HQ by Yaesu repair). So I have completely failed to fix the problem by sending it to the official repair facility.

Based on my 30+ years of RF experience, this is a hardware problem and will not be fixed by any firmware updates. Their engineers created a poor mixed signal environment and the digital lines are crossing over into either the audio amplifier stage or worse yet into the RF stage (perhaps more unlikely). I am convinced that the only way to fix it is to redesign the PCB inside the radio, but Yaesu HQ seems unwilling to do this, or to publically admit there is a problem. There is no way to avoid it as it is not possible to control the radio any other way than using the USB port. As a result, I am definitely planning to sell the radio as the clicking noise is so bad that it is useless for any control application (e.g. digital) and contesting is impossible since the noise covers up stations in situations where you ride the RF gain (normal practice for any receiver in crowded bands). This is obvious from the video.

It is possible that you might get a radio that does not have the problem under CAT control, but I would say the odds are not good as more than one person has written me with exactly the same symptoms. The engineering on the radio's digital lines is obviously very poor, and I was really disappointed by Yaesu HQ's unwillingness to work with me at all to address the issue. It's a sad situation and the company should not be very proud of its work or its non-response.

It's a sensitive receiver and a fine radio if you don't use any CAT control at all - this is true of course for many applications - but as I mentioned above, it's unusable if you want to use any kind of computer control. This same conclusion has been noted by Derek Fichtner more than once here.

I would like to thank Tim Factor and Dale "Scotty" Scott of Yaesu Repair in Cypress CA for their assistance - they did an excellent job with customer service and faithfully ran my requests up the chain. The problem is entirely with Yaesu HQ in Japan, its engineers, and their regrettable unwillingness to work with me to effect a solution.
Page 1 of 7 —>

If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.