eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Transceivers: HF Amateur HF+6M+VHF+UHF models - not QRP <5W | Yaesu FTdx-1200 Help


Reviews Summary for Yaesu FTdx-1200
Yaesu FTdx-1200 Reviews: 117 Average rating: 4.6/5 MSRP: $$1879
Description: The FT DX 1200 provides up to 100 Watts on SSB, CW, and FM
(25 Watts AM carrier) and a rugged state of the art highly
balanced receiver circuit configuration for top performance
on today’s crowded bands. Similar to the high end “YAESU FT
DX” series, it uses 32-bit high speed floating point DSP.
Yaesu’s acclaimed superior DSP algorithm is highly effective
in weak signal processing and enhancement. The 1st IF
frequency is protected by selectable 3 kHz, 6 kHz and 15 kHz
roofing filters that effectively attenuate interfering
signals.
Product is in production.
More info: http://
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Yaesu FTdx-1200.

Page 1 of 12 —>

W0XX Rating: 5/5 Feb 13, 2018 11:17 Send this review to a friend
Good Radio - Update Later  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Well, won't go into rcvr specs you can look those up. I have played with the 1200 for a while and id does require some learning or manual reading. Seems basically pretty good. A couple of nits:
1. With the bands were back lit keys. The legends are small and a bit difficult to read if you don't have the room lighting right on the front panel.
2. The display is okay but to change some settings (i.e. Vox On/Off, etc.) you have to navigate back and forth from the scope, select up or down, and then get on the setting, hit select to turn the function off/on, etc. Then back to scope display or whatever. To me that seems awkward to say the least.

But for performance, I think it is pretty good, but will re-state you have to play with it a lot to get a feel of short cuts and settings you want when operating.
 
K2VI Rating: 5/5 Feb 7, 2018 17:28 Send this review to a friend
VERY SURPRISED  Time owned: more than 12 months
I am a Kenwood guy but own many Icoms and Yaesu transceivers . This review is comparing my Kenwood ts590SG And my Yaesu ftdx-1200. I had the radios twined into the same antenna(80m doublet at 80'. Well after 5 days of back and fourth i was amazed at the performance of the 1200. DO NOT listen to anyone who says the 590sg blows away the 1200. It complete and total BS. Sensitivity is equal, Filtering out strong stations 2K up or down is also equal both preform very good with no winner. Here is where the Yaesu shines head and shoulders above the 590sg. DSP on the 1200 is way way better. Noise floor? again the 1200 has a noticeable quieter receive. On 40M band the Kenwood has a S3 Noise level and the 1200 S-0 And the transmitting signal s meter reading is the same so it is not a calibration issue the yaesu is just flat out quieter than the 590sg. And lastly the fidelity , this is a big one. With an 8 OHM bookshelf speaker the yaesu has some serious rumble and with the DSP engaged the sound does not degragate like the kenwoods underwater sounding DSP.Also the yaesu was loud and the Kenwood needed to have the volume full clockwise so the audio amp in the yaesu is bigger as well. If there is some nitpick with the Yaesu it is the front knobs have a cheap feel and the Kenwood seems like a better build. I love my 590sg but it is what it is and the 1200 going for 925.00 with the rebate and the Kenwood at 1379.00 I would suggest the Yaesu. I sure wish the Kenwood won because It was and still is my first choice.
 
WA8KOQ Rating: 5/5 Jan 28, 2018 08:48 Send this review to a friend
Pleasure to operate  Time owned: more than 12 months
After using this rig more than a year, I am still very pleased. It is truly a joy to operate, the filtering enables many qso's I would not have with out the selectivity. The APF is amazing on CW. I thought I would use the DNR a lot but find that I seldom need it even though it works very well.
I put my OMNI VI on the shelf for now.
 
W7KKK Rating: 5/5 Jan 4, 2018 18:50 Send this review to a friend
Nice Rig  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I bought this rig after being cleared for mild RF exposure of my pacemaker/defib unit without the fear of reprogramming it and being off the air for two years.
I have owned many Yaesu products over the years compared to ICOM and had good luck with the Yaesu line over the years. Models owned started with a 101EE, 990,840,897,450,950 and a 1000 Field.
With all the filtering you could want and all the other features I think this radio is a keeper.
I think it's much better than the 950 that I had last too.
 
K4TK Rating: 5/5 Dec 24, 2017 07:42 Send this review to a friend
About that clock issue....  Time owned: more than 12 months
I'm updating my review to address the clock issue just mentioned in the VK callsign review below. So now I know it's not just me! Bought my 1200 right around the exact same time you did. And same EXACT thing with the clock! Contacted Yaesu tech folks. It's one of those 3 volt disc batteries used by many modern electronics. Good news, shouldn't leak if we leave the dead battery in. Bad news, yes...it is dead. Yrs, it must be sent back to replace....It's supposedly soldered in? I'm not paying shipping....both ways...and repair....and waiting without a radio. I used to set the clock ever time I turned on the radio (it keeps time while powered on ). No more, I bought an MFJ clock and set it to UTC. Yes, it's a shame about the clock.

I've had my FT DX 1200 over 2 years now. I upgraded from an old Kenwood TS 440. There's of course no comparison....but then....the old Kenwood was about a 20 year old rig! I love MOST of the features on the radio. I will agree as one other review noted....when working contests....or sometimes when working pileups where the DX is working split, I can hear considerable "bleedover" from stations calling the DX....sometimes as far as 3 or 4 khz away on CW. To work around this, I use the Notch filter and also use the Width control ....narrowing the receive bw just a little along with the notch seems to take all the "off frequency" stations calling out....and I hear just the dx then. So yes, it could stand to have a bit better rejection on adjacent freqs.

Another thing I've noted, there's been some confusion when I went to interface new products...like the MFJ 998 auto tuner. What cable to get for automated features is often a guess....as many manufacturers don't yet list the 1200 in their list of supported radios. Likewise, often when I interface the radio with options on my logging program (DX4WIN), they don't have the 1200 listed. I've contacted the support team for the software, and they said (at the time) "you're the first person to try and interface that radio with our software....try some other Yaesu radio settings from our menu....see if you can get it to work, then report back here and share so we can tell others". No problems, I'm an Electrical Engineer with 38 years experience in the Comm world....so I like a challenge. In the end, I've gotten all the products I've added to use with the radio working (DCU3 rotator control, MFJ 998 auto tuner, Ameritron ALS-1306 amp, DX4WIN logging software). All those products work with the rig....just took some experimenting to get remote/automatic control/cables working.

Great radio for the money. I see now where it's on sale for UNDER 1000 bucks. For that money, it's a GREAT deal.

I recently added a Heil PR 781 mic for it....and using the built in parametric mic eq settings, the TX audio sounds FANTASTIC!

One other note....it was aggravating trying to do the firmware updates ...as you would lose the menu/memory settings. But I found there was some 3rd party software that lets you save all those settings. That way, you just save your settings ....then download your firmware upgrades and install them....then use the 3rd party software to restore the menu/memory settings.
 
VK2DET Rating: 3/5 Dec 23, 2017 16:51 Send this review to a friend
problem with clock not retaining time after switch off  Time owned: more than 12 months
Hi Ive had my FTDX1200 since (new) 15/10/2014,Ive been happy with its performance ease of use etc etc.
But last few months (approx 8 months)Ive had this annoying problem with the clock not retaining the time!!Ive set it and after switching off,Came back several hours and days later to find clock set at ZERO!!The memory settings for other settings on the rig aren't being effected.
Ive been told to return it to the place of purchase etc etc for replacement of the battery (as it still has warranty)
But its a pain to ship to the dealer etc just for a battery!!.
Im still not convinced its a battery issue as WHY DO THE OTHER SETTINGS REMAIN AS SET???
Ive kept up the firmware updates etc,
I cannot understand why the clock wont stay set
Ive got the FFT Board installed,
The other problem that has just started is the DISPLAY SLANTING TO LEFT ON THE SCREEN,But it seems to of righted itself the other day.
So in summery am I about to sart having MAJOR PROBLEMS ??
Has anybody had similar problems with the OTHERWISE EXCELLENT trx.
Thanks for reading
 
K4DJQ Rating: 5/5 Dec 21, 2017 12:45 Send this review to a friend
Great Radio for the money!!!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I've owned the FTDX-1200 for a couple of weeks now and have to say that I'm very impressed with it. I've owned several rigs over the 25 years that I have been licensed and have to say that this radio holds it's own against the big dogs!! I've owned the Icom 756, Yaesu FT1000MP MarkV Field Kenwood TS570D and Kenwood TS480SAT just to name a few and IMO the 1200 blows them out of the water. Great job Yaesu on a great radio for the money. IMO the ones who gave this radio a bad review probably should have read the manual before trying to operate the radio, You probably would have had better luck with it!!!!
 
KT8DX Rating: 5/5 Dec 9, 2017 06:55 Send this review to a friend
Simply put - best rig I've owned  Time owned: more than 12 months
I've been a ham since 1975 and have owned quite a few rigs. With the exception of the TS-940 I used to own this is my favorite radio. Controls are solid and not tiny little pots like some other radios I've had. It is ultra reliable unlike the many Ten-Tec's I've owned. The ergonomics are great, receiver performance is fantastic, CW features are wonderful. I go through radios and get tired of them easily. This one I've had since they first came out and feel no need to "upgrade". If I did it would be to a FTDX-3000 only to have the Panadapter output, real-time scope, and second receiver. I see Yaesu has discounted these further now - if you are on the fence you can't go wrong pulling the trigger on this radio.
 
N4WRE Rating: 5/5 Jun 10, 2017 20:22 Send this review to a friend
Very Nice Rig  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Well I have just owned the FTDX1200 a couple of weeks but I really like it. I have had a lot of compliments about the transmit audio with just a cheap studio mic. The receive is very impressive, the sound out of the internal speaker is great. I don't see how you could go wrong with this rig. I have the matching speaker and have really enjoyed using this rig. Try one for yourself and you will be happy. Not a fan of Yaesu until I bought the 1200. I think it is A+++

73 N4WRE
 
G4MJA Rating: 5/5 Jun 1, 2017 03:32 Send this review to a friend
Excellent Transceiver  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I bought the FTdx1200 new 10 months ago.Initially I spent quite some time setting up my preferences in the very comprehensive 196 menus, this does take a while! Most of the menus are 'set & forget'. It is proving to be a great radio on both transmit & receive.The DNR (Dynamic Noise Reduction) works really well at killing band noise & boosting a weak signal. On SSB the best the display power meter will show is 60 to 70W PEP, don't be fooled, this is an average power meter, the radio runs a genuine 100w on speech peaks displayed on my outboard digital meter. At current prices I consider this radio to be a bargain.
 
Page 1 of 12 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.